Jealousy for Auli’i Cravalho and Inspiration by Moana

by Nicholas, Period 1

nicholas

Left, Auli’i Cravalho; right, an early sketch of Moana. N.p.: Walt Disney Pictures, n.d. PNG.

 

What is the difference between jealousy and inspiration? Honestly, I’ve a hard time telling the two apart. All it took was a friend, on any day, to hum the tune to reel me into a real epiphany. The heart-warming melody and harmony reminded me of the first time I watched Moana in theaters in December. In short, a daughter to the chieftain, Moana, leaves the island to find what station in life she must take and accept. To see a person find him/herself always captivates others who are also finding themselves. To set sail onto the high sea entails a life against the world. These aspects appealed to me.

If you must know, the song was Auli’i Cravalho’s “How Far I’ll Go”. It is exactly between the author and song that I was torn. I listened to the song on repeat, throwing myself into an endless pit of awe and inspiration. In short, I loved the song. To feel the same passion in yourself as the artist reflects the moving work of the song; however, when I read the biography of the singer, Auli’i Cravalho, I could not help but feel a twinge of jealousy. At the age of 14, she was casted as Moana, a movie ending up with a box office of hundreds of millions of dollars. In other words, at the age of 14, a girl earned millions of dollars.

I listened to her voice another time.

How can I not find spite in her? At the age of 14, Auli’i can already retire. At the age of 14, she has a fallback. Money is the wanting of most people, the source of ease and achievement. At the age of 14, a girl has earned her keep. It goes without saying, she has not lived an entire life, but has enough to live the rest of her life.

I listened not for pleasure, but for criticism. Every lacking aspect of her performance I sought to emphasize. I felt sour at her achievement and needed compensation from the singing from an amateur.

What I fail to see is the illogic of my tendency. The work of a person I deem unworthy is deem likewise with ease. If there is any life lesson that I have discovered in myself is that those unliked by others are subjected to the ease of criticism and when given praise, it is done so in a reluctant nature.

Leave a Reply

