Sunset Goodbye

Need

Students in Lee Ann Spillane‘s tenth grade English class are participating in the Slice of Life Story Challenge hosted by the team at Two Writing Teachers. Get a second “slice” by visiting Two Writing Teachers and clicking on the Classroom Slice of Life logo. 

by Mariana, period 7

“Cheese!” I said to my grandparents, trying to immortalize this moment in a picture. They had stayed over the winter, normally they stay only until the end of December but not this time, this time it was different.

“What is wrong?” I ask my sister who had just turned nine and loves to hear all the stories her grandma enjoyed so much telling.

“It’s just that I’m going to miss them so much” she said with trembling voice and eyes filled with infinite sadness.

The sun was setting and the twilight was as beautiful as ever, but the sadness in her eyes hunted all of us, we all knew this was not the last time we would see each other, but the solemn air of the room said otherwise, an unspoken conversation took place between my mother and me, we always had the ability to know what the other was thinking, uncertainty overcame me and I had to leave the room and breath clean and bright air, I had to clear my thoughts, the tension was palpable and the uncertainty was asphyxiating, but I had to go back.

So I went back, plastered a big smile across my face and pretended like everything was going to be fine.

And they left, and we were fine.

asma-sunset

One thought on “Sunset Goodbye

  1. I love this. The symbolism of the sunset to your grandparents leaving was very touching. Always remember that with every sunset comes a sunrise.
    -Amber M.

Leave a Reply

