Macbeth: Tragic Hero or No?

Okay I know he’s a tragic hero, or at least he’s supposed to be one, but I have a hard time listening to people tell me what should be what, so before we get going with the trials, I want to talk a bit about this whole story.

First off, I’m going to be completely honest, I didn’t really like the play. As with Romeo and Juliet, the story itself was very rushed, and though that was probably due to the short nature of plays, it still made for some rushed reading. I really liked how his knowledge of his fate and stuff affected how he made his fate come true, that was a really cool part. All of the characters are very believable with their personalities, and there were some really cool interactions, though many cool characters were killed or never mentioned again when they could have played more of a part (Banquo and his son for instance.), and many things just seemed rushed in general.

However, the biggest problem I have with the play is Macbeth himself. His motivations were merely greed and the desire for power. I could have understood if he wanted to become king to help his country or save them from Duncan, and from there became a tyrant, since that would have made a much better “tragic hero story, as he had good intentions at the start. But in the story, Macbeth was a jerk from the very start, willing to kill the king at a drop of a coin, and from there proceeded to have a HUGE character shift into a tyrant and a villain. All around, Macbeth himself could have been done better as a character.

Then again, what do I know about literature? I’m 15.

Leave a Reply

