Slice of Life: Life with a Cat

20150318_192332_LLS
Leia resting in the corner

 

It was early October of 2012 when I first placed eyes on this adorable cat, sitting in PetSmart, who now has grown into my best friend and companion. Her name’s Leia, but it wasn’t always that way. When she was born her name was Ms. Lovejoy and she lived alongside her brother Mr. Tom, with a woman who eventually renamed them Leia and Wicket after Star Wars characters.  Soon thereafter, the woman couldn’t handle both of them and had to return them to the adoption agency. By this time they were a year old, and ended up at the PetSmart by my house.

I had always wanted a cat ever since I saw Nylah and Bambu from BFvsGF. I was so excited when I got her, but a little sad that she had to be separated from her brother. To be honest, my life after owning a cat has gotten so much happier. A void was filled. They say that taking care of another thing, besides yourself, can decrease stress levels, increase overall happiness, and improve the quality of one’s life. I absolutely believe that this was true for me.

So, would a cat bring you happiness? In this ever stressful life of IB it can be hard to find time for ourselves, much less a pet. I encourage you if you have not already, to find a friend. There are so many animals out there in shelters who would be eternally grateful for a home. Not just cats, but dogs too.

Life with a cat is better than I could have ever imagined. Everyday, Leia greets me at the door when I come home from school. She wakes me up in the morning, by jumping on my bed and tapping my face. She sits on me while I play PS4 and talk to friends. She sleeps on me in the cold winter nights when I fall asleep on the couch watching TV. I’m glad to have a pet as loyal as her, and I will miss her when she is gone.

slice-of-life_classroom-image-black

3 thoughts on “Slice of Life: Life with a Cat

  1. Love the fact that you named her Leia. Kinda fitting that she got separated from her brother, much like what happened between Luke and Leia in the Original Trilogy.

Leave a Reply

