A Slice of Thanksgiving in a Brown Household

*Two days before Thanksgiving*

   Around 2 o’clock in the afternoon, my sister and I gathered around the dinning table to make a list of all the ingredients that was needed for our Thanksgiving Dinner. The menu of our Thanksgiving dinner this year was: chicken (as our turkey since our family isn’t a huge fan of turkey), chicken wings, meatballs, spinach rolls, shrimp, corn, baked beans, and cranberry sauce. We took out all the recipes papers that my sister printed out and started writing the ingredients that we were missing. Around 6 o’clock in the evening, we went grocery shopping. After we bought everything that was needed, we headed home and planned out how our dinner would be like.

*Thanksgiving Day*

I woke up to the sound of my sister’s voice telling me to wake up to help her make our Thanksgiving dinner. So I got up out of the bed and brushed my teeth. I headed to the kitchen to prepare everything. Each of the Hossain family members had a task: my brother was in charge of grilling the chicken wings and the baked beans, my sister-in-law was in charge of the shrimp and my mom, my sister, and I were in charge of the meatballs and spinach rolls.

After all the meals were cooked, it was 8 o’clock, it was time for us to eat and we eat dinner later than a normal family. We placed the meals on the table when my sister realized we didn’t even buy the main chicken for dinner and my mom tells her it’s okay that we forgot, we already have too much food. So we gathered around the table ate till our stomachs were about explode.

That’s how Thanksgiving went for the Hossain household!

image

Photo source: phone photos

Leave a Reply

