Waiting

From 5/7/14:

Today, I sit here with piles of homework wondering where I’ll be in a month- how I’ll be relaxing, how I’ll manage to squeeze the very memory of school out of my head; because a month from today, I’ll be on summer vacation!

Our English teacher, Mrs. Spillane calls this ‘disease’ or ‘syndrome’ “summeritis”- where you slack off on the last part of school in anticipation for the summer. I know that I still have an AP exam to finish (ew!), lots of work, and a bunch of finals still, but every time I start my homework I get visions of what summer will be, and I just stop. Is there a cure for this?

It seems so close and yet so far. I ask myself: ‘Why haven’t I been this concerned about the end of the year all year long? Why does the countdown start now?’ I wish the countdown waited for a better time, since it is too far away, and at this point it’s just taunting me.

One thing that I have reflected back on as this disease has progressed was how fortunate and happy I am that we have summer. Without it, I wouldn’t be able to start the next year with a fresh start, and would probably have developed permanent or chronic summeritis. As an IB student who cares too much about my grades, that is definitely not a good thing.

There’s something more to this phenomena. Summer will bring happiness, joy, fun, relaxation, an absence of stress, and eventually boredom. For me, it will bring a time filled with family that I haven’t seen in 6 months. The school year is cyclic, and so are our lives. We spend our entire school day waiting for 2:11. We spend our entire week waiting for Friday. We spend our weeks waiting for the next long weekend or break. We spend our entire year waiting for summer. Our entire school career waiting to graduate. And then what? Will we wait to graduate college? Then, will we wait to get a promotion to get into a comfortable position? Will we continue to wait and long for a marriage partner? And then when we have kids, will we keep waiting for them to grow up so that they are easier to deal with? Will we wait for retirement? Is that when we’ll finally be happy? But even if so, for how long, and how much time did we waste getting there?

Is there a cure to summeritis? A cure to…lifeitis? It’s a hard fix. We wait for a reason. There’s a reason why there’s countless sayings about it: “The grass is always greener on the other side.”, for example. There’s always something that we’re excited for, always something that is happening now that we don’t like. We long for summer to be over because of the hot weather, then we want winter to go away because of some extremely cold days.

Where are the positives? There are always some. When you’re hot, you’re not cold. When you’re cold, you’re not hot. When you’re in school, at least you’re not bored. When you’re bored out of school, on summer break, at least you’re not stressed. Let’s take a step back. Enjoy life. Enjoy the journey. Because if you look at everything underneath a microscope, checking for the imperfections, life will swim by out of your sight, and you definitely don’t want to wait for that to happen.

4 thoughts on “Waiting

  1. I thought I was the only one with Summeritis and Lifeitis. I feel ya!
    Its IB for a reason.I pretty sure we all have sophomoreitis
    Good luck though…my summer is going to be crappy, boring unless my cousin comes for a visit which I am truly wishing for!
    Good luck! 🙂

  2. I think the fact that students spend the day waiting for 2:11 and the week waiting for Friday is a telling criticism of our educational system. Would that school and learning was where students wanted to be.

Leave a Reply

