My Saturday Being Well Spent

Good morning Sunday people! So this time I’ve decided to write about how I spent my whole Saturday yesterday.

Saturday, April the 5th, the track team (including me) from Cypress Creek (Go Bears!) had a track meet in Daytona Beach and the place we went was Embry Riddle University.  It was a beautiful place and from what I heard, it was also an IB school.

We were to arrive at Cypress at 6 o’clock in the morning (early) and we were in Daytona by around 8:30 in the morning. Once we arrived there, the weather was decent. Not too hot and not too cold. One of my races, the 4×8, was the first race. However we ended up missing it because another girl in my 4×8 team spent too long tying her shoes and she was the first leg ( meaning she ran first) so we ended up missing that race. Yep, it was sad.

But as the day progressed, it got hot and sunny. In other words, I got really bad tan lines and it was hot the whole day. My second race, was the 1600 or the mile. I did fairly well on that race. I was predicted to come in 6th place and ended up coming in 3rd place out of 20 something girls. I also increased my PR (personal record) by 2 seconds!

After that race, I had a couple of hours until my other race. So I spent those couple of hours under our tent hanging out with the team or with my old coach from middle school and her two dogs (which were really cute and sorry I didn’t get any pictures). When I was hanging out with her, I ended up falling asleep and got a little burned on my face. Oops.

Finally, my next race came around at 4:45 and I was running the steeplechase. The steeplechase is 5 laps, or a mile and a quarter. However, you are running those 5 laps while jumping over a barrier at certain points throughout the lap and at one point, the barrier is followed by a pit of water. The deepest part of the pit is about 3 to 4 feet. But the key is jump off the barrier as far as you can so you don’t end up falling and the deepest part of the pit and having a difficult time running out of the water. Since this was my first time running this race, I had some difficulties on my first lap. Meaning, I fell and tripped in the deepest part during my first lap. Good thing is, the other laps I jumped far enough away from the deepest part! By the end of the race, I was exhausted from jumping over those barriers but it was a fun experience.

image

image (1)

(This is my other teammate, Amanda, and I at the water pit)

Then the rest of the day consisted of me waiting in the sun for the other events to end. Then after the track meet was over, the team went out for dinner (Wendy’s, McDonald’s, and Subway’s) and we drove back home. On the way back home, we played music and singed very off tune and just enjoyed ourselves after the long day. We arrived back at Cypress at around 8:30 and the coaches were more than happy to send us home 😛

All in all, our team did very well. One of our long distance girls, Kayle, got first place in all of her events (the 3200 or 2 mile and the steeple chase) and some of our sprinters got first place as well.

So that is how I spent my whole Saturday. How did you guys spend yours?

 

Leave a Reply

