The City That Never Sleeps

Lets take a flashback to summer of  2012 where I got to visit the most wonderful city ever, New York City. This was going to be the first state i will visit in the USA. I was very excited to go. I’ve always had a dream to visit New York and I was finally going. The plane ride from Fort Lauderdale to La Guardia was around 2 hours and 30 minutes. As soon as we got off of the plane, I started to take in the city. I’ve always wondered how its like to live in a city crammed together with other people. It’s been a dream of mine to live in NY for a while. They do say its the city where dreams come true.

When we were out of the airport, we were greeted with my moms friend who kindly took us to our hotel. Our hotel was directly in front of the famous Madison Square Garden and near Times Square. It was the best spot ever. After we checked in at the hotel and put away our luggage in the room, we immediately left to explore. We step outside and start walking north. People rush by us going to work, exercising, or talking on the phone. Fast pace walkers everywhere.  Crowds of people would pass by us. I took all this in. Observing the lives of people who live in this crowded city with tall skyscrapers. And that’s what I basically did until midnight.

The next day we were awoken by the sound of honking cars and voices. Time for more exploring. This time we decided to go beyond the city. My dad had the brilliant idea of taking the subway. I had a weird feeling about this especially because we had no idea where we are going. My dad’s idea of adventure is just to go somewhere without having a final destination. So that’s exactly what we did. We ended up taking a boat ride near the statue of liberty, walking through wall street and china town and the one i was looking forward to, the 9/11 memorial. It was so breathtaking and beautiful. It was something I will never forget. We also went to New Jersey for a while.

My trip to New York was shortly coming to an end. We were only staying for a weekend. It seemed like forever. I did so much in just a weekend. I hope to go back soon with more time and adventures. After all, it’s the city that never sleeps.

By : Valeria153.wordpress.com

 

One thought on “The City That Never Sleeps

  1. I love New York because of all the tourist and how you see something new everyday instead if the same routine. Nice story it was really descriptive!

Leave a Reply

