March 2nd, 2014

          Hey guys! It’s Sunday, yay!… just kidding. Let me just say I hate Sundays with a burning passion because it means Monday is the next day and I hate Monday just as much. Anyways, I cannot believe it is  March already! This year has been going so fast. However I have to say I am pretty excited about March lots of fun things will be happening like our IB field trip to IOA in Universal Studios, then we finally have Spring Break, also just yesterday we had our 3rd annual YELL( Youth Empowerment and Leadership Learning) conference.

       Speaking of the YELL conference, I just wanted to say I was really impressed with it. Considering the fact it was a student organized conference it was very well done. Someone actually convinced me to go hear the speaker that was the president of Tupperware, and at first I was kind of hesitant like how will a Tupperware man inspire me? However I really enjoyed his life story and learned he is not just the president of Tupperware, but many other wonderful things.

        Stein Ove Fenne who is the president of Tupperware in US and Canada shared his amazing life story and he was very inspirational. ( By the way he even gave everyone a free Tupperware water bottle which look really cool!) He talked about his struggles, ups and downs throughout life and how we fought through it all and now he is here, the president of one of the most popular companies in the world. He taught us to read impossible in a different way, to look at it like ” I’mpossible”. One thing that stuck to me was he told us to always smile and never stop smiling. He said to smile at everyone you see and he even gave us a challenge to see how many smiles you get in return. So I challenge you guys! How many smiles can you catch?

slice-of-life_classroom-image-black

6 thoughts on “March 2nd, 2014

  1. Hi! I’m a teacher in Colorado & know your teacher through blogging, love hearing all about what your class is doing. I enjoyed this very much, the “i’mpossible’ is clever, isn’t it, and I do the smile ‘thing’, think it helps relationships, even with strangers, very much. My saying is “why not smile?” The alternative is not very pleasant really. Thanks for such a thoughtful post!

  2. I love the reminder to smile and catch smiles! Thanks for sharing the words of wisdom. It’s amazing how enjoyable it is to listen to a really inspirational speaker.

  3. I feel the same way about Sundays! It’s nice to know how much insight you gained from the YELL conference! Awesome!

Leave a Reply

